State Historic Preservation Office Cultural Resources Division 6425 SW 6th Avenue Topeka KS 66615-1099



785-272-8681 fax 785-272-8682 kshs.shpo@ks.gov kshs.org

Patrick Zollner, Executive Director Laura Kelly, Governor

July 14, 2023

Mark L. Reiske, R.A., AUA
University Architect, Director
The University of Kansas
Facilities Planning and Development
1246 West Campus Road, Rm 36
Lawrence, KS 66045
dcmmlr@ku.edu

Re: Irma Smith Hall, University of Kansas East Historic District, Douglas County, Kansas

Dear Mark:

This letter is to inform you that the Irma Smith Hall a property located within the University of Kansas East Historic District, has been changed to "contributing" to the district. Irma Smith Hall was listed as a "non-contributing" property within the University of Kansas East Historic District on January 8, 2014 – NRIS # 13001038. At the time, the period of significance for the district stopped at the 50-year guide (1963). Our office, the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) received a request for Irma Smith Hall to be reevaluated due to an arbitrary period of significance. Upon further research, submitted to SHPO in November 2022, the period of significance was proven to be arbitrary, which then marked Smith Hall as "noncontributing" due to its construction date of 1967. SHPO has determined that the context within the existing historic district nomination, and additional research, supports the period continuing through 1967 to include Smith Hall as a "contributing" resource.

The SHPO received a draft amendment for the nomination in April 2023 that provided the supporting information to extend the period of significance to 1967, and change Irma Smith Hall to "contributing." The amendment was accepted and approved by the Keeper of the National Register of Historic Places on June 27, 2023.

The district is comprised of both "contributing" and "non-contributing" properties. Contributing resources include properties located within the district boundaries that add to the historic significance of the district. These may qualify for rehabilitation incentives. Non-contributing properties are those within the boundaries of the district but do not add significance to the district. They are either non-historic (not built within the district's period of significance) or have been altered and no longer reflect their historic appearance.

Non-contributing properties *may* become contributing *if* they were built within the period of significance, and new information is provided to the SHPO for re-evaluation. To learn if your property is contributing or non-contributing, please reference the district nomination on our website (<u>www.kshs.org/14638</u>) or call our office.

State Historic Preservation Office Cultural Resources Division 6425 SW 6th Avenue Topeka KS 66615-1099



785-272-8681 fax 785-272-8682 kshs.shpo@ks.gov kshs.org

Patrick Zollner, Executive Director

Laura Kelly, Governor

Listing of this district provides recognition of the community's historic importance and assures protective review of federal projects that might adversely affect the character of the district. This district is also protected under the Kansas Historic Preservation Act (K.S.A. 75-2715 through 75-2725). For more information on state and federal protection, please visit our website: www.kshs.org/14658.

Contributing properties may qualify for rehabilitation incentives. Our office administers two rehabilitation tax credit programs and the Heritage Trust Fund grant program. More information about these funding incentives is available on our website at www.kshs.org/15605. You also may call (785) 272-8681 ext. 240 for applications and more information.

Thank you for your interest in our state's historic resources. If you have any questions concerning this nomination, please contact the State Historic Preservation Office at 785-272-8681 ext. 240 or kshs.culturalresources@ks.gov. We invite you to join us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/KSHPO and follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/kansashistory or using the handle @kansashistory.

Sincerely,

Katrina Ringler

Acting Cultural Resources Director

Jamee Fiore Krivenko National Register Coordinator

encl: copy of amendment to the nomination

cc: Lynne Zollner, City of Lawrence, Historic Resources Commission

Kaitlyn Ammerlaan, Douglas County, Historic Resources Commission

Tom Harper, preparer Dale Slusser, preparer