Three Lawrence City Commission seats and five Lawrence school board seats are coming up for election.

Candidates who made it through the Aug. 1 primary will be on the ballots for the general election, coming up Tuesday, Nov. 7.


The last day to register to vote ahead of the Nov. 7 general election is Oct. 17. Early voting begins Oct. 18, and Oct. 31 is the deadline to request an advance ballot to be mailed to you.

Douglas County voters can check their voter registration, register to vote and/or request an advance ballot by mail at

Learn more about voting in Douglas County at this link.

Meet the candidates:

More 2023 Election coverage:

If local journalism like this matters to you, please support The Lawrence Times.
Click here to subscribe.

Lawrence City Commission candidates

In order of filing, these six candidates will advance to the Nov. 7 general election:

  • Amber Sellers (incumbent)
  • Dustin Stumblingbear
  • Mike Dever
  • Brad Finkeldei (incumbent)
  • Courtney Shipley (incumbent)
  • Justine O. Burton

All three incumbent city commissioners whose terms will expire filed for reelection.

Lawrence school board candidates

This year, the Lawrence school board election includes four seats for candidates who will serve four-year terms, and one seat for candidates to serve out the unexpired two years of the term of Andrew Nussbaum, who resigned to move out of state. There was a primary election for the two-year term.

Running for four-year terms, in order of filing:

  • Rachel Stumblingbear
  • Anne Costello
  • Yolanda Franklin
  • Carole Cadue-Blackwood (incumbent)
  • Kevin Coronado
  • Edward (E.J.) Gonzales
  • Brandon Moore
  • Jody Meyer
  • GR Gordon-Ross (incumbent)

Candidates running for the two-year school board term, in order of filing:

  • Ariel Miner
  • Shannon Kimball (incumbent)
If our local journalism matters to you, please help us keep doing this work.
Don’t miss a beat … Click here to sign up for our email newsletters