Contact the Lawrence City Commission

We believe it is a healthy and essential function for members of the public to contact the people who are making laws and decisions on their behalf. Therefore, we’re listing contact information and social media pages (although some may not be present or active on all platforms) on our site.

Five Lawrence City Commissioners are elected at large, meaning they serve the city as a whole rather than representing districts.

Three Lawrence city commissioners are elected in odd years. The two candidates who receive the most votes are elected to four-year terms; the third-place candidate has previously been elected to a two-year term. Starting with candidates elected in 2023, all commissioners will serve four-year terms. They are paid about $22,000 per year.


Meeting info

The Lawrence City Commission generally meets the first, second and third Tuesdays of each month in the City Commission room on the first floor of City Hall, 6 E. Sixth St. Meetings usually begin at 5:45 p.m. Agendas are available via this link. Meetings are livestreamed on the city’s website and on its YouTube channel.

The commission welcomes written public comment until noon the day of the meeting. Comments can be provided via email to The commission also hears live public comment during meetings.

You can sign up to receive notices from the city and agendas for upcoming meetings at this link.

Read our latest Lawrence City Commission news coverage at this link.

Last updated Dec. 21, 2023

City commissioners

Bart Littlejohn, mayor

785-380-9413 •
Twitter: @BartVote4
First elected to a four-year term in 2021; served as vice mayor in 2023 and selected as mayor for 2024.

Mike Dever, vice mayor

785-550-4909 •
Facebook page
Elected to a four-year term in 2023 and selected as vice mayor for 2024; previously served from 2007 to 2015 (before The Lawrence Times began publishing).

Lisa Larsen, commissioner

785-331-9162 •
Twitter: @Lisa_Larsen
First elected to a four-year term in 2017; reelected in 2021. Served as vice mayor in 2022, mayor in 2023.

Brad Finkeldei, commissioner

785-550-9699 •
Twitter: @bradfinkeldeiFacebook page
First elected to a four-year term in 2019; reelected in 2023. Served as vice mayor in 2020, mayor in 2021.

Amber Sellers, commissioner

785-813-1381 •
Twitter: @AmbrWavz
First elected to a two-year term in 2021; reelected to a four-year term in 2023.

Meeting archives

Find recorded meetings on the city’s YouTube page. More details about how meetings work are outlined in this resolution.

If our journalism and resources matter to you, please help us keep doing this work.

Support The Lawrence Times

Don’t miss a beat … Click here to sign up for our email newsletters

Click here to learn more about our newsletters first

Latest Lawrence City Commission news: