Advertisement

Contact the Lawrence City Commission

We believe it is a healthy and essential function for members of the public to contact the people who are making laws and decisions on their behalf. Therefore, we’re listing contact information and social media pages (although some may not be present or active on all platforms) on our site.

Five Lawrence City Commissioners are elected at large, meaning they serve the city as a whole rather than representing districts.

Three Lawrence city commissioners are elected in odd years. The two candidates who receive the most votes are elected to four-year terms; the third-place candidate is elected to a two-year term. They are paid about $22,000 per year.

Advertisement

Meeting info

The Lawrence City Commission generally meets the first, second and third Tuesdays of each month in the City Commission room on the first floor of City Hall, 6 E. Sixth St. Meetings usually begin at 5:45 p.m. Agendas are available via this link. Meetings are livestreamed on the city’s website and on its YouTube channel.

The commission welcomes written public comment until noon the day of the meeting. Comments can be provided via email to ccagendas@lawrenceks.org. The commission also hears live public comment during meetings.

You can sign up to receive notices from the city and agendas for upcoming meetings at this link.

City commissioners

Courtney Shipley, mayor

785-764-8998 • cshipley@lawrenceks.org
Twitter: @courtbelleFacebook page
First elected to a four-year term in 2019

Lisa Larsen, vice mayor

785-331-9162 • llarsen@lawrenceks.org
Twitter: @Lisa_Larsen
First elected to a four-year term in 2017; reelected in 2021

Brad Finkeldei, commissioner

785-550-9699 • bfinkeldei@lawrenceks.org
Twitter: @bradfinkeldeiFacebook page
First elected to a four-year term in 2019

Bart Littlejohn, commissioner

785-380-9413 • blittlejohn@lawrenceks.org
Twitter: @BartVote4
First elected to a four-year term in 2021

Amber Sellers, commissioner

785-813-1381 • asellers@lawrenceks.org
Twitter: @AmbrWavz
First elected to a two-year term in 2021

Meeting archives

Find recorded meetings on the city’s YouTube page. More details about how meetings work are outlined in this resolution.

If our journalism and resources matter to you, please help us keep doing this work.

Support The Lawrence Times