Advertisement

The Lawrence Public Schools Board of Education includes seven volunteer members who are elected to serve four-year terms. Three or four of the board seats are up for election every two years (most recently, three board members were elected in November 2021).

The board generally meets at 6 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at district offices, 110 McDonald Drive. Board meetings are also listed on the Lawrence Times events page. Meetings are livestreamed on the USD 497 YouTube channel, and recordings of previous meetings can also be found on that page. They are also broadcast live on Midco channel 26.

Advertisement

Find school board meeting agendas and board policies at this link. Find Lawrence Times coverage of the school board at this link.

Contact the Lawrence school board:

Erica Hill, board president

620-727-5355
ehill@usd497.org
First elected in 2019 • Read district bio

Shannon Kimball, board vice president

785-840-7722
skimball@usd497.org
Facebook page
First elected in 2011; reelected in 2015 and 2019 • Read district bio

Carole Cadue-Blackwood

785-550-7620
ccaduebl@usd497.org
Facebook page
First elected in 2019

Kay Emerson

Kay.Emerson@usd497.org
Facebook page
First elected in 2021

Kelly Jones

785-764-1465
Kelly.Jones@usd497.org
Facebook page
First elected in 2017; reelected in 2021

Andrew Nussbaum

Andrew.J.Nussbaum@usd497.org
Facebook page
First elected in 2021

Paula Smith

785-979-2899
psmith@usd497.org
First elected in 2019 • Read district bio

Send all board members written correspondence via email at schoolboard@usd497.org, or via mail:
In care of Board Clerk at USD 497
110 McDonald Drive
Lawrence, KS 66044

To give public comment virtually during a board meeting, email PublicComment@usd497.org by 6 p.m. on the day of the meeting to sign up to participate by Webex video/phone conferencing.

Last update: Jan. 23, 2022

Advertisement
Click here to access more community resources