The Lawrence Public Schools Board of Education includes seven volunteer members who are elected to serve four-year terms. Usually, three or four of the board seats are up for election every two years (most recently, five board members were elected in November 2023 because of a special circumstance with one seat).

The board generally meets at 6 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at district offices, 110 McDonald Drive. Board meetings are also listed on the Lawrence Times events page.


Meetings are livestreamed on the USD 497 YouTube channel, and recordings of previous meetings can also be found on that page. They are also broadcast live on Midco channel 26.

Find school board meeting agendas and board policies at this link. Find Lawrence Times coverage of the school board at this link.

Contact the Lawrence school board:

Last updated: Jan. 13, 2024

Kelly Jones, board president

Facebook page
First elected in 2017; reelected in 2021

Bob Byers, board vice president

First elected in 2009, served through 2013; appointed to vacant seat from 2014-2015; appointed to vacant seat again in 2023

Shannon Kimball, board past president

Facebook page
First elected in 2011; reelected in 2015 and 2019; reelected to a two-year term in 2023 • Read district bio

Carole Cadue-Blackwood

Facebook page
First elected in 2019; reelected in 2023

Anne Costello

Facebook page
First elected in 2023

Yolanda Franklin

Facebook page
First elected in 2023

GR Gordon-Ross
Facebook page
First elected in 2017; appointed to the board in 2022; elected in 2023

Send all board members written correspondence via email at, or via mail:
In care of Board Clerk at USD 497
110 McDonald Drive
Lawrence, KS 66044

To give public comment virtually during a board meeting, email by 6 p.m. on the day of the meeting to sign up to participate by Webex video/phone conferencing.

Click here to access more community resources