The Lawrence Times news team has been honored to receive numerous recognitions from professional journalism associations and universities’ journalism schools.

The Times, founded in February 2021, started publishing in March 2021. Despite our publication’s relative youth compared to peers, these awards have helped to cement that the work we do is not only important to our community but also well respected in our field.

We sincerely appreciate our colleagues’ encouragement, and more than anything, the community support that allows us to keep doing this work.

If local journalism like this matters to you, please support The Lawrence Times.
Click here to subscribe.

Summaries of awards we’ve earned

Award-winning work

The posts below are award-winning articles, projects, parts of series and/or contain award-winning photos or infographics.


News team awards

2023 Kansas Press Association Awards of Excellence:

• Best Coverage of Diversity, All Divisions
• Best Use of Social Media, All Divisions (Follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagramYouTubeLinkedIn and Tiktok)
• Best Website, Division VII

Read more about these recognitions at this link.

2022 American Journalism Online Awards, Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute at New York University:

• Best Non-Traditional News Organization

Read more about this recognition at this link.

Individual recognitions

• Molly Adams began her work as a professional photojournalist with The Lawrence Times in late May 2022. She was selected for third place in the Photographer of the Year category among all divisions in the Kansas Press Association’s 2023 Awards of Excellence. She was named second place Photographer of the Year in the 2024 Awards of Excellence.

See Adams’ work at this link.

• Tom Harper is a Lawrence townie, Realtor at Stephens Real Estate, and founder of Lawrence Modern, a group whose mission is to raise awareness of midcentury and modern architecture.

He was selected for third place in column writing in the Times’ division — publications with the largest circulations in the state — in the Kansas Press Association’s 2023 Awards of Excellence. Read Harper’s work at this link.

• Conner Mitchell, reporter, in 2022 earned two recognitions for his 2021 series, “Who Killed Nick Rice?”, including the Burton W. Marvin Kansas News Enterprise Award, named for the former dean of KU’s William Allen White School of Journalism & Mass Communications, and an honorable mention from the American Journalism Online Awards from the Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute at New York University in its category of “Best Use of Public Records.”

Read the series at this link.

Watch for more award-winning journalism as it’s published

Page last updated April 9, 2024