Advertisement

Getting married next month? Apply for your marriage license today

Share this post or save for later

If you’re getting married in September and you need a Kansas marriage license, the time to apply for it is right now.

The Kansas Judicial Branch’s database to record marriage license application data will be offline from Sept. 8-13. However, “Barring unforeseen circumstances, if a couple applies for a marriage license by August 31, the couple will have a license in hand by September 7,” according to a news release.

Advertisement

Applications submitted after this Tuesday, Aug 31, will not be processed until Sept. 14.

State statute requires a three-day waiting period before marriage licenses are granted.

To apply for a marriage license, you’ll need a method to pay online. They cost $85.50, plus a $2.14 fee if you pay with a credit or debit card, or $1.25 if you pay be electronic check.

You don’t need documents or identification when you apply for a marriage license, but you’ll need these details for each party:

  • full name, including first, middle, and last names
  • date of birth
  • gender
  • place of birth
  • Social Security number
  • current address
  • parents’ names
  • parents’ places of birth
  • name change details, if name change is requested
  • previous marriage details
  • ethnicity
  • race
  • education level
  • phone number

However, if you don’t know the date of a divorce you can enter 99/99/9999, and if you don’t have a Social Security number, you can enter 999-99-9999. And it’s OK if you don’t know the exact date of your wedding, though the license expires six months after it’s issued.

Find more information about marriage licenses on the judicial branch’s website at this link. Apply for a marriage license at this link.

Don’t miss a beat … Click here to sign up for our email newsletters

Previous Article

Photo gallery: First annual Kaw River Roots Festival draws crowd to downtown Lawrence

Next Article

The To Do List! from The Lawrence Juice – Aug. 29-Sept. 12, 2021