Mix of a dozen newcomers, incumbents declare Lawrence school board candidacy

Share this post or save for later

Twelve candidates have filed for seats on the board of Lawrence Public Schools, which means a primary election will be necessary to narrow down the field.

The candidates, in alphabetical order by last name, are Melissa Clissold, Kay Emerson, GR Gordon-Ross, Leticia Gradington, Kelly Jones, Markus Logan, Nate Morsches, Andrew Nussbaum, Douglas Redding, Elizabeth Stephens, Travis Tozer and Myranda Zarlengo.

Three positions are up for election this year and are currently held by Gordon-Ross, Melissa Johnson and Jones, who serves as board president.

A primary will be held Aug. 3 for the Lawrence school board race because 10 or more candidates filed. In order for a primary election to take place, more than three times the number of candidates to be elected must file by deadline. The candidate list is not official until three days after the filing deadline, which was noon Tuesday.

According to R.J. Wilson, deputy Douglas County clerk, the top six vote getters in the primary will advance to the general election Nov. 2.

All seats on the Lawrence Board of Education are at-large positions, meaning members represent the entire school district. Likewise, voters can vote for any of three seats up for election.

Lawrence board members serve four-year terms on the seven-member board. With Johnson not filing for re-election, at least one board member — and up to three members — could be new when they take office in January.

For information about registering to vote, click here.

More coverage:

May 25, 2021: Recap: Lawrence school board meeting, May 24

May 10, 2021: Recap: Lawrence school board meeting, May 10

March 22, 2021: Recap: Lawrence school board meeting, March 22

Previous Article

LarryvilleLife: Lawrence musicians discuss getting back onstage after a year away (Column)

Next Article

Larsen, Boley to seek reelection to Lawrence City Commission as 9 candidates file for 3 seats