Kansas AG among Republicans objecting to proposal on teaching about racism

Share this post or save for later

WASHINGTON — Twenty Republican attorneys general are voicing their disapproval over the Department of Education’s proposed priorities for teaching K-12 students about American history and civics education because they would include references to systemic racism and how the history of slavery has shaped the United States.

Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt announced in a news release Thursday that he had “objected to an attempt by the Biden Administration to subsidize the teaching of critical race theory in the nation’s classrooms.”

The state attorneys general argue in a May 19 letter to Education Secretary Miguel Cardona that public schools should not be given grant funds to teach about critical race theory, “including any projects that characterize the United States as irredeemably racist or founded on principles of racism (as opposed to principles of equality) or that purport to ascribe character traits, values, privileges, status, or beliefs, or that assign fault, blame, or bias, to a particular race or to an individual because of his or her race.”

Critical race theory says that racism is systematic and embedded in policies and the legal system. Scholars who study the issue focus on understanding how racism has shaped U.S. laws and how those actions have affected Black communities and communities of color.

“Though the Department does not overtly refer to (Critical Race Theory) in its priorities, it is prioritizing teaching this highly controversial ideology through the vehicle of this grant program,” the AGs wrote. “This is hardly what Congress intended when it authorized this program.”

The attorneys general also warn against approving grants for teachings of the Pulitzer Prize-winning 1619 Project from the New York Times Magazine.

The Department of Education did not respond to requests for comment.

The 20 attorneys general who signed the letter include Schmidt, Mark Brnovich of Arizona, Christopher Carr of Georgia, Lawrence Wasden of Idaho, Jeff Landry of Louisiana, Eric Schmitt of Missouri, Austin Knudsen of Montana and David Yost of Ohio, among others.

Kansas Reflector is part of States Newsroom, a network of news outlets supported by grants and a coalition of donors as a 501c(3) public charity. Kansas Reflector maintains editorial independence. Contact Editor Sherman Smith for questions: info@kansasreflector.com. Follow Kansas Reflector on Facebook and Twitter.

Previous Article

Kansas contemplating $200M–$250M overhaul of law enforcement training center

Next Article

Andromeda’s kittens: At 7 weeks, they’ve reached the top of the cat tree