Here’s the full schedule of Douglas County District judge interviews; 2 positions to be filled

Share this post or save for later

The Kansas Judicial Branch has released the full schedule of interviews with local attorneys who have applied to serve as judges in Douglas County District Court.

The nominating commission will convene starting at 8:30 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 31 at the Douglas County Judicial and Law Enforcement Center, 111 E. 11th St., a slight change from the previously announced plans. Interviews will be open to the public.

There are two spots available on the bench: one from which Judge Kay Huff has retired, and another that is a new division the Legislature has decided to fund.

Here’s the full schedule and the nominees who have applied:

9 a.m.: Blake Glover, Baldwin City, judge pro tem, 7th Judicial District
9:45 a.m.: Nicholas David, Lawrence, attorney, The David Law Office, LLC
10:45 a.m.: Jessica Glendening, Lawrence, deputy defender, 3rd Judicial District Public Defender’s Office
11:30 a.m.: Alice Craig, Baldwin City, special counsel, Hall & Evans, LLC
1 p.m.: Carl Folsom III, Lawrence, assistant federal public defender
1:45 p.m.: Tonda Hill, Lawrence, assistant district attorney, Wyandotte County
2:30 p.m.: Catherine Theisen, Lawrence, attorney, Barber Emerson, L.C.
3:30 p.m.: Paul Klepper, Lawrence, judge pro tem, 7th Judicial District
4:15 p.m.: Jonathon Noble, Lawrence, chief public defender, Northeast Kansas Conflicts Public Defender Office

The order of interviews will be announced once the full schedule is set. Anyone who needs accommodation should reach out to the judicial branch’s ADA coordinator at, 785-296-2256, or TTY at 711.

The Seventh Judicial District nominating commission will be tasked with selecting three to five applicants to submit to the governor; the governor then will have 60 days after receiving the names to select two people to appoint. After serving one year in office, new judges must stand for retention votes in the next general election. If they are retained, they will serve four-year terms before facing another retention vote. 

Justice Eric Rosen is the nonvoting chair of the Seventh Judicial District Nominating Commission. It also includes Elina Alterman, Elizabeth Cateforis, Stephanie Davis, Lisa Harris-Frydman, Wesley Smith, and Daniel Watkins, all of Lawrence.

If our local journalism matters to you, please help us keep doing this work.
Don’t miss a beat … Click here to sign up for our email newsletters

Click here to learn more about our newsletters first

Latest Lawrence news:


Previous Article

Kaw Valley Almanac for Aug. 15-21, 2022

Next Article

City of Lawrence joins national effort to monitor COVID-19 and monkeypox in wastewater