Lawrence Schools Foundation seeks nominations for annual award for dedicated educators

Share this post or save for later

The Lawrence Schools Foundation is looking for nominations for a big annual award given to teachers, staff members and paraeducators who go above and beyond.

The Dedication to Education Award is an annual honor that comes with a $5,000 check for a Lawrence school district educator who goes the extra mile to help kids who need it most, according to the foundation.


A group of community members inspired by their fathers’ examples created the award in 2007. They’re the sons and daughters of another group of anonymous donors — all named Bob — for whom a separate teaching award given each spring was named.

The nomination form states nominees may be submitted by anyone, including students, staff, peers, alumni and community members; however, teachers may not nominate themselves.

Nominations are due Nov. 30, according to the foundation. See the nomination form and requirements at this link.

Dedication to Education Award recipients:

2007 – Jim Immel (Early Childhood Center)
2008 – Mary Ann Henry (South Junior High School)
2009 – Mary Chamberlin (Pinckney Elementary School)
2010 – Charlotte Lauts (Lawrence High School)
2011 – Lori Sinclair (Woodlawn Elementary School)
2012 – Ron Swall (Lawrence Free State High School)
2013 – Morgan Randle (Southwest Middle School)
2014 – Heather Lee (Lawrence High School)
2015 – Cara McNorton (Kennedy Elementary School)
2016 – Kim Fuller (South Middle School)
2017 – Leah Henry (Juvenile Detention Center)
2018 – Mike Harris (Sunflower Elementary School)
2019 – Jessica Rohrberg (District Wide Physical Therapist)
2020 – Baileigh Faler (Broken Arrow Elementary)
2021 – Erin McDaneld-Campbell (Free State High School)
2022 – Brandon Daley (Woodlawn Elementary)

If our local journalism matters to you, please help us keep doing this work.
Don’t miss a beat … Click here to sign up for our email newsletters

This post is by the Lawrence Times news team.

If you have news tips, questions, comments, concerns, compliments or corrections for our team, please reach out and let us know what’s on your mind. Find our contact info (and a quick contact form) at this link.

Follow us so you won’t miss the local news that matters most to you:

Latest Lawrence news:

Molly Adams / Lawrence Times

Lawrence Indigenous, queer communities and allies mourn death of nonbinary Oklahoma teen

Share this post or save for later

Members of Native American and queer Lawrence communities joined in solidarity for a vigil in honor of Nex Benedict, a 16-year-old nonbinary student from Oklahoma who died this month after suffering injuries from a fight in the girls’ bathroom at school — the bathroom state law required them to use.


Previous Article

‘Suspicious letter’ prompted evacuation of Kansas Secretary of State office

Next Article

Kansas Democrats push property tax relief as alternative to GOP’s ‘political extortion’